Tarpon?

fsh4fun

Tarpon?

Post by fsh4fun »

Hey All,
Great board, lots of awesome info.
I'm just getting into kayak fishing. Had the family in Longboat for a week at the start of July. Saw tarpon rolling at the surface, some days I'd see 5 or so, sometimes in pairs, other days I'd see a dozen singles?
I was trying for tarpon, hooked 3 fish landed zero. The first fish never jumped? Is that abnormal for tarpon? I suspect it was a tarpon, the other two jumped. It towed me off shore a long way, fought it for two hours. I was using a rod rated for upto 20lb test, and was using 30 lb braid. That fish hit a dead lady fish under a balloon. I think I did a couple of things wrong. First I let the fish tow me all over the place, and didn't feel that comfortable getting pulled sideways (more drag), and I would catch up to the fish and be over top of it, which I think would put less pressure against the fish than if I was 25 yards behind it. Open to suggestions? Obviously the goal would be to tire the fish out quickly and release it. Are there better areas to fish for tarpon?
Thanks,
Neil
ZeroSix

Re: Tarpon?

Post by ZeroSix »

Neil,

PM me when you get a chance. Though there are folks with much more experience that me, I think I might be able to help you.

Joe
“Buda! Wanna see the best thing about owning a Hobie???”

18 March - Eric Bell Memorial

Hobie Outback - Moss "Ole Blue"
Hobie Pro Angler - Dune "Big Phaddy"

Sr. Vice President ExPS-Elite -PFK-CaC
Rik

Post by Rik »

Some of this may sound as if I'm wagging my finger at you but, please, don't take it that way.

First, if you were out there alone, make sure your life insurance is paid up. Even the most experienced guys on this forum don't go out alone. There's too many things that can go wrong and it happens very quickly.