Found some reds, but....

Flamingo to Big Bend
Rollo

Found some reds, but....

Post by Rollo »

I'm new to the saltwater kayak fishing and visiting inlaws Here in the Sarasota area. Brought my rig and headed out early this morning for a little recon, not really expecting to catch anything. Within 5 minutes of paddling out of the canal I spotted something feeding on the first flat. Reds were finning. Had a couple of nice bites but no hook ups. I eased on out to more open water and found another school of reds in about 2' of water on an oyster flat. I did manage to pull a couple of small ones in (my first ever), a small trout and an abundance of nice strikes. All on a 3" 1/8 oz Mirrodine. I threw everything else in my box, gold and black Spook Jr., DOA shrimp, DOA shad (olive and sparkle, watermelon and red glitter, avacado and glitter, etc.) and not a single strike on those. They seem to kind of like the mirrodine but I had to fish hard to get what I got. My question is what would you suggest on which way to go to get better results? Smaller lure? Color? Style? Fishing slower seemed to have better results, but hard to tell. Any advice would be great.
Thanks
Rollo
JoeS

Re: Found some reds, but....

Post by JoeS »

Rollo......You cant go wrong using a Mirrodine.....the other baits you mentioned a good as well.....Reds are a little erratic this time of year.....Best thing I could tell you is.....If you think your retrieving slow.......SLOW DOWN some more........
PS Welcome......
"I want to help the helpless, but I don't give a damn about the clueless anymore!
Walt_Trident13

Post by Walt_Trident13 »

I agree with Joe. Slow retrieve. In the winter time I also use smaller lures. I have some mini mirrodines that work well. Plus 20lb fluorocarbon leader at the most.
http://www.youtube.com/brentwaltersmith" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
fishshooter99

Post by fishshooter99 »

Great post and congrats on the first yak red. You'll be hooked forever.
Gary