Rigging Weddless Lures

Questions and answers on anything related to kayak or canoe fishing
Heywood

Rigging Weddless Lures

Post by Heywood »

I thought I would share my experience with them. By no means I'm I saying that I'm an expert when it comes to fishing, but I have had some success, so I thought I would pass along some tips on rigging these lures.

I like to use the Mustad Power Lock hooks in 1/16 oz, size 3/0. I've found the 3/0 is just the right size, 1/0 or 2/0 are good if you are using a liter leader, say 20 lbs, but if you need to step it up to 30 lbs, it will not fit through the eye of the hook.

I also like the new Mission Fishin Weedless Jerk Bait hook. Again, I like the 3/0 size and I found some in 1/32 oz that I really like. They have a different bait keeper system than the Power Locks, it's a screw in type.

For lures, 90% of the time I'm throwing an Exude RT Slug. Colors vary, but I've had good luck with Arkansas Shad, Mangrove Red and Watermelon and Pearl. Here is the first tip I picked up while using Jerk Baits. If the bait your using does not have a groove in the top where the hook will lay down, take a knife and cut a small slit so the hook sets down in that groove. I do this when using DOA, Flukes or other Jerk Baits that don't have that groove. The other tip I want to pass along is this, once rigged up, take the hook and just push it forward a little bit so just the point is buried into the bait. This will help keep it weedless.

Another lure that I will use is a DOA Paddle Tail. I like the Golden Bream color and this one, not sure of the name.

On these lures, you need to use the smaller size Mustads such as the 1/0. Again I like to go as lite as possible, 1/16 oz. You rig this lure the same way you do a jerk bait.

I have deleted a section about using Gulps for tailing redfish, I know how some feel about this subject, but if you would like to see it PM me.