Ocean Kayaks

RonC

Ocean Kayaks

Post by RonC »

I dont see them mentioned a lot here compared to other brands.
Any reason?

I am new to the Tampa Bay area, and I am trying to pick my first real fishing kayak. I have been studying the reviews and opinions so that I can pick a few out to do some test paddling. But I do value the info on this board probably more than my impressions after a quick paddle in a certain kayak.
CB

Post by CB »

I have a Prowler 13, I love it , no problems with it and it paddles well.
Watching the years go by like weekends out of the corner of my eye.
Tree-Bone

Post by Tree-Bone »

Ocean kayak makes very good products. I have had 3 and never a problem.
See Kim at Ospry Bay Outdoors, clearwater.
link : http://www.ospreybay.com/
Todd
PFTS Chairman
PFTS Chairman

Post by Todd »

To each their own, you are making a wise decision on getting other opinions and test paddling. I know several who paddle prowler 13's and love them, I had one for a few months and hated it. They do make a nice kayak but it just did not suit me.
You know what La Quinta means in English? Behind Dennys. MarkM
dunfly

Post by dunfly »

Ocean Kayak is a very popular brand around here. I'm suprised you haven't run across many references. I have two Prowler 15's, which has one of the best combinations of speed, stability and tracking of any kayak on the market. OK also makes the Scupper Pro TW (one of the first tank well fishing kayaks), the Drifter (fat but very stable), Big Game (aircraft carrier), Scrambler (less expensive recreational kayak), Caper (small but capable), Venus (especially for women, it even comes in pink),
Prowler 13 (nice all around fishing kayak), and the new Trident series including the 11, 13 and 15 (replacement series for the Powlers).